ME3Tweaks Forums

Modding forum for the Mass Effect series

Changing pawns' weapons

Discuss Mass Effect 3 mods and modding tools here. This includes multiplayer mods.

Postby Malshep » Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:53 am

In Mass Effect one thing annoyed me a bit since the first appearing of Cerberus Troopers on Mars...why are they equipped with SMGs and not with Mattocks as seen in most cutscenes? Too expensive? Use the cool things only on stage?

There is a MixIn for the Geth Prime that makes him use a geth rifle instead of his pulse weapon, is it possible to do something like this with other pawns as well?
Malshep
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:52 am

Postby Mgamerz » Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:33 pm

Unfortunately no. The get prime one is doable because his turret has is actually using the geth pulse rifle so it is baked into the same file. The mesh is hidden though. I could only do it for one of the primes as the other is patched and is not possible (there are 2 primes, one patched and then another full updated file).

You can do it in game via giveitem <pawn instance id> <weapon> though but it can also crash the game.

giveitem target shuriken
User avatar
Mgamerz
Site Admin
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:13 am

Postby Malshep » Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:18 pm

Okay :cry:, but thanks for the reply

Its sometimes funny to give some enemies powerful weapons through the console :? , but I am quite sure to use it on every single trooper isn't worth the effort.

Thank you for everything you created here. The Rejects are really cool to play with
Malshep
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:52 am

Postby Mgamerz » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:09 pm

I once wrote a program that send keys to me3. I had set those keys to keybinds to a list of pawn indexes. Every few seconds it would give a pawn a new gun.

It wasn't stable though and crashed after a few waves but it was pretty savage.
User avatar
Mgamerz
Site Admin
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:13 am

Postby Malshep » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:57 pm

Probably :shock:, but sounds interesting.

I tried to do at least the weapon giving part and bind the following command row to a key:

giveitem SFXPawn_Trooper_0 mattock
...
giveitem SFXPawn_Trooper_100 mattock


So pressing the key would give every Trooper on the field a mattock (meaning in the best case 8 at a time and in higher waves nothing at all).
Seems to work :D, but it looks like a pretty ugly solution because the game would have to handle at least 93 invalid commands each use. Do you remember how you did it?

By the way is this client-friendly or will they have issues?
Malshep
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:52 am

Postby Mgamerz » Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:59 pm

Clients will see the new rate of fire and sometimes see the gun. Without a ASI hook or memory scanner there's not really any other way. ASI hooks for MP are really unreliable due to the original SDK code being buggy.
User avatar
Mgamerz
Site Admin
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 1:13 am


Return to Mass Effect 3

cron