ME3Tweaks Forums

Modding forum for the Mass Effect series

I must be doing something wrong

Mass Effect 3 Private Server Emulator is a replacement for the Origin/Blaze backend that handles the online component of Mass Effect 3.

Moderator: PSE Developer

Postby Erik JS » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:55 am

No, nothing else.

If PSE isn't crashing and the game still refuses to connect to it, you may also test it with something else... try to visit "me3.goscontent.ea.com/abcdef.txt" from your browser - if redirection is active, PSE will receive this and show a message about "file not found: abcdef.txt".
User avatar
Erik JS
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:03 pm
Location: Brazil

Postby Boerewors » Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:30 pm

Ok. I reverted back to my old IP and did the test. It is still crashing and I received no message from PSE saying the file cannot be found. But I works if use the 127.0.0.1 IP. Will my friend be able to connect to my lobby using that IP?
Boerewors
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:41 am

Postby Erik JS » Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:21 am

127.0.0.1 means "this computer". Setting PSE to listen on 127.0.0.1, on your PC, will only handle connections from your PC.
User avatar
Erik JS
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:03 pm
Location: Brazil

Postby Boerewors » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:29 am

In that case it seems I am screwed. Is really nothing else I could try? It has been a while since I played with a friend and I am itching for some competition. Could I ask, does IPv6 have something to do with it? Mine seems to be dissabled.
Boerewors
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:41 am

Postby Erik JS » Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:33 pm

IPv6 settings don't affect the game, it works under IPv4.

Just to make sure that Setup.exe is detecting all (correct) IP's, run this from a cmd window:
netsh interface ipv4 show addresses

This will list all network interfaces and their respective IP's currently assigned to your PC. Does the netsh list match the IP list shown in 'Setup for Hoster'?
User avatar
Erik JS
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:03 pm
Location: Brazil

Postby Boerewors » Fri Mar 10, 2017 5:13 pm

This is the response:

Configuration for interface "Local Area Connection 2"
DHCP enabled: No
InterfaceMetric: 5

Configuration for interface "Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1"
DHCP enabled: No
IP address: 127.0.0.1
Subnet Prefix: 127.0.0.1/8 (mask 255.0.0.0)
InterfaceMetric: 50

I'm guessing that this is not good because my IP is 168.192.0.1
Boerewors
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:41 am

Postby Erik JS » Sat Mar 11, 2017 9:40 am

You mean 192.168.0.1, right?

I can tell you that this is not how things show up here... this doesn't look like a PSE issue anymore and unfortunately I'm not sure how to fix this. :|

EDIT: for comparison, this is how things show up here in Windows 10 and 8.1 with virtual adapters from VBox/VMWare:
http://www.mediafire.com/view/wx6frk4gk7m4i4k/netsh.png
User avatar
Erik JS
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 8:03 pm
Location: Brazil

Postby Boerewors » Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:46 pm

Thanks for the help mate. I will try to fix this. I know PSE runs with the 127.0.0.1 IP. I will try to look for the problem. Thanks again.
Boerewors
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:41 am

Previous

Return to Mass Effect 3 Private Server Emulator